The spokes logo

Leicester Spokes Cycling Group

Leicester's Friendly Social Cycling Group

2018 Rides and Events

Click link to Filter: Current Events Saturday Rides Sunday Rides Other Events Previous Events

Please note that ride details are subject to change.

Date and TimeEventLocationDestinationDistanceLeaderComment
10:30 Sun 15th Apr 2018RideBede ParkSt Joseph's Tea Room29 milesPeter EverardNew route to avoid floods. Note that this ride is hilly on the way back!
10:00 Sat 14th Apr 2018RideBede ParkOakham45 milesDavid MTo Oakham
10:00 Sat 7th Apr 2018RideBede ParkTBA45 milesKumaranNote back to 10 am starts Lunch at Trent Lock
10:30 Mon 2nd Apr 2018RideBede ParkHallaton35 milesAndy MThis Ride is cancelled due to the weather.
10:30 Sun 1st Apr 2018RideBede ParkLocal Ride30 milesChristine KKeyham, Dog & Gun
10:00 Sat 31st Mar 2018RideBede ParkBroughton Astley45 milesAndy KNote back to 10 am starts Lunch at George & Dragon
10:30 Sat 24th Mar 2018RideBede ParkThornby Hall45 milesAndy M Lunch at new Peace Cafe Thornby Hall https://meditateinnorthants.com/world-peace-cafe/
10:30 Sun 18th Mar 2018RideBede ParkCancelled due to weather forecast.25 milesChristine Cancelled
10:30 Sat 17th Mar 2018RideBede ParkLocal Ride40 milesMike GThringstone
10:30 Sat 10th Mar 2018RideBede ParkTBA36 milesDavid M
10:30 Sun 4th Mar 2018RideBede ParkCANCELLED27 milesAndy KLunch at Thurlaston Garden Centre
08:30 Sun 4th Mar 2018Sulley ChallengeBede ParkCANCELLED60 milesTBA
10:30 Sat 3rd Mar 2018RideBede ParkCANCELLED36 milesMike G
10:30 Sat 24th Feb 2018RideBede ParkSaddington39 milesAndy KLunch at Queens Arms Saddington. Note the 50% off sale http://www.queensheadsaddington.co.uk/pdfs/jan-feb-sale-menu.pdf Which you may need after the hills!!
10:30 Sun 18th Feb 2018RideBede Parkthe Blue Lion, Thrussington25 milesPeter Everard
10:30 Sat 17th Feb 2018RideBede ParkWhetstone33 milesAndy KLunch at Dog & Gun, Whetstone
08:30 Sun 11th Feb 2018AudaxBede ParkRutland & Beyond60 milesAndy KLeicester Forest Audax
10:30 Sat 10th Feb 2018RideBede ParkAshby Folville33 milesAndy MLunch at Carington Arms
10:30 Sun 4th Feb 2018RideBede ParkMountsorrel28 milesJohn W
08:00 Sun 4th Feb 2018ReliabilityAge UK Wigston45 milesTBARatae Reliability Rides, 25, 45 or 75 miles
10:30 Sat 3rd Feb 2018RideBede ParkFoxton33 milesDavid MLunch at Foxton Locks
10:30 Sat 27th Jan 2018RideBede ParkTBA32 milesMike GShepshed area
10:30 Sun 21st Jan 2018RideBede ParkThrussington25 milesPeter EverardUnfortunately, this ride is CANCELLED due to forecasted heavy rain, sleet, snow and ice.
10:30 Sat 20th Jan 2018RideBede ParkAshby Folville32 milesAndy MLunch at Carington Arms
10:30 Sat 13th Jan 2018RideBede ParkCharnwood30 milesMike GRide around Charnwood - there be hills
10:30 Sun 7th Jan 2018RideBede ParkSapcote 25 milesAndy KLunch at Sapcote Garden Centre Cafe
10:30 Sat 6th Jan 2018RideBede ParkWilloughby Waterleys 34 milesAndy KLunch at General Elliott @ WW.
10:30 Sat 30th Dec 2017RideBede ParkBotcheston34 milesAndy KLunch at Greyhound Inn, Botcheston
10:30 Sun 24th Dec 2017RideBede ParkBroughton Astley 22 milesAndy KLunch in B Astley
10:30 Sat 23rd Dec 2017RideBede ParkStoughton25 milesAndy MShort ride before Christmas sloth kicks in Lunch at Cow & Plough, Stoughton
10:30 Sat 16th Dec 2017RideBede ParkShepshed 35 milesAndy KLunch at Pied Bull, Shepshed
19:00 Wed 13th Dec 2017RideBede ParkNOT TONIGHTSpokes Party
10:30 Sun 10th Dec 2017RideBede ParkUllesthorpe30 milesJohn WoodcraftThis ride is Cancelled due to snow.
10:30 Sat 9th Dec 2017RideBede ParkOld Dalby 37 milesDavid MOld Dalby
10:30 Sat 2nd Dec 2017RideBede ParkClaybrooke44 milesAndy KLunch at Pig in Muck Claybrooke
10:30 Sun 26th Nov 2017RideBede ParkSt Josephs Tearooms Whitwick36 milesJohn WHilly route
10:00 Sat 25th Nov 2017RideBede ParkBurbage 44 milesAndy KLunch at Sycamores, Burbage
10:00 Sat 18th Nov 2017RideBede ParkShearsby 40 milesDavid MLunch at Chandlers Arms
10:30 Sun 12th Nov 2017RideBede Parkthe Dog and Gun Keyham25 milesPeter EverardTable booked for 1pm.
10:00 Sat 11th Nov 2017RideBede ParkThringstone 40 milesMike GLunch at Bulls Head
10:00 Sat 4th Nov 2017RideBede ParkLubenham 44 milesAndy KLunch at Coach and Horses
10:30 Sun 29th Oct 2017RideBede ParkWalcote32 milesAndy KLunch at Black Horse, Walcote
10:00 Sat 28th Oct 2017RideBede ParkTBA 50 milesAndy MTBA
10:00 Sat 21st Oct 2017RideBede ParkTBA 55 milesMike GProbably Thringstone
19:00 Wed 18th Oct 2017RideBede ParkShort ride to view Diwali Lights4 milesFollowed by meal at Chef & Spice Hinckley Rd/Narboro Rd junction. 8pm 13.95 chefandspice.co.uk/
10:30 Sun 15th Oct 2017RideBede ParkBillesdon via hills35 milesJohn WLunch at Queens Head.
10:00 Sat 14th Oct 2017RideBede ParkW Bridgford 57 milesAndy KLunch at Spokes and Co cafe, W Bridgford
10:00 Sat 7th Oct 2017RideBede ParkTBA 55 milesAndy MTBA
10:30 Sun 1st Oct 2017RideBede ParkCircular to Mountsorrel32 milesJohn WLunch at Granite Cafe
10:00 Sat 30th Sep 2017RideBede ParkTBA 55 milesMike GTBA
10:00 Sat 23rd Sep 2017RideBede ParkWitherley 50 milesAndy KLunch stop at Blue Lion, Witherley www.bluelionwitherley.co.uk/fooddrink/
10:30 Sun 17th Sep 2017RideBede ParkWanlip Church Hall20 milesPeter EverardRide will be followed by Lunch at 12.00 then open Spokes Committee meeting and AGM at Wanlip Church Hall.
09:30 Sat 16th Sep 2017RideBede ParkPitsford 64 milesAndy KRide south to meet the Peter Simmonds' LEJOG ride. NOTE 9:30 start
10:00 Sat 9th Sep 2017RideBede ParkTBA 50 milesDavid MTo Snarestone - route to be advised
10:00 Sun 3rd Sep 2017WeekendBristolBristol0 milesMike BArrive Sunday, stay 3-4 days and explore local cycle routes. More details contact Spokes email address or Mike Ball. Note that there is no ride from Leicester this Sunday.
10:00 Sat 2nd Sep 2017RideBede ParkCrick 55 milesAndy KLunch at Wheatsheaf
10:30 Sun 27th Aug 2017RideBede ParkSharnford 30 milesAndy MLunch at Bricklayers, Sharnford
10:00 Sat 26th Aug 2017RideBede ParkCottingham 51 milesAndy MLunch at Red Lion, Middleton
19:00 Wed 23rd Aug 2017RideBede ParkBradgate Park17 milesPeter Everard
10:30 Sun 20th Aug 2017RideBede ParkBosworth Battlefield Cafe30 milesKathy B
10:00 Sat 19th Aug 2017RideBede ParkAlexton 55 milesMiek GLunch at Sweet hedges http://sweethedgesfarm.moonfruit.com/tea-rooms/4585785420
10:00 Sat 12th Aug 2017RideBede ParkBrandon marshes 59 milesAndy KLunch at Badgers Cafe, Brandon marsh
10:30 Sun 6th Aug 2017RideBede ParkHallaton E. Leics34 milesChristine KLunch at Bewicke Arms Tearoom
09:30 Sat 5th Aug 2017Social/TourismSt PancrasLondon32 milesAndy KMeet 9.30 at St Pancras Day ride in London, via Regents Pk, Hyde Park, Thames riverside path to Richmond for lunch, then back via Richmond Pk.
10:00 Sat 29th Jul 2017RideBede ParkTrent Lock 63 milesAndy MUp to Shepshed, join Cloud Trail to Derby, then over to Trent Lock for lunch, beforre returning via S Bonington, round Loughborough, and follow the Soar valley.
10:30 Sun 23rd Jul 2017RideBede Parkthe Soar Bridge Inn, Barrow Upon Soar via Ragdale34 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sat 22nd Jul 2017RideBede ParkTBA 60 milesKumaranTBA - Possibly Attenborough Waterpark near Nottingham
10:00 Sat 15th Jul 2017RideBede ParkSharnford 50 milesAndy KLunch at Bricklayers, Sharnford (formerly The Countryman) www.thebricklayers.org/
19:00 Wed 12th Jul 2017RideBede ParkGreat Glen19 milesPeter Everard
10:30 Sun 9th Jul 2017RideBede ParkTur Langton30 milesLiz & TonyLunch at Manor aka Mint & Ginger Cafe
10:30 Sat 8th Jul 2017RideLeicesterTo Langtons - Beer Festival30 milesAndy MAlternate for those not going on ride back from Sheffield Note 10:30 start
07:45 Sat 8th Jul 2017RideLeicesterRide back to Leicester from Sheffield75 milesAndy KCar assist to Sheffield, then ride back, c12mph average speed.
10:00 Sat 1st Jul 2017RideBede ParkUllesthorpe 50 milesAndy MLunch at Ullesthorpe Garden centre
10:30 Sun 25th Jun 2017RideBede ParkBitteswell32 milesJohn WLunch at Royal Oak pub
10:00 Sat 24th Jun 2017RideBede ParkNo ride0 milesNo ride due to York Cycle Rally
14:00 Fri 23rd Jun 2017RallyYorkYork Cycle RallyWeekend rally (23-26) with rides from 17 miles up to a 100km audax based in and around York. See website http://yorkrally.org/
10:00 Sat 17th Jun 2017RideBede ParkTBA 50 milesTBATBA
10:30 Sun 11th Jun 2017RideBede ParkWheel and Compass, Weston by Welland39 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sat 10th Jun 2017RideBede ParkVale of Belvoir60 milesAndy MLunch stop TBA
10:00 Sat 3rd Jun 2017RideWestern PubRide to villages north of Leicester - Ragdale, Six Hills, etc 55 milesMitchLunch at Thurmaston
10:30 Sun 28th May 2017RideBede ParkCircular to Barkby30 milesChristineLunch at Malt Shovel
10:00 Sat 27th May 2017RideBede ParkChapel Brampton 63 milesAndy KLunch at Spencer Arms, Chapel Brampton.
19:00 Wed 24th May 2017RideBede ParkBradgate Park and Groby Pool21 milesPeter Everard
09:00 Sat 20th May 2017RideBede ParkRockingham and Oakham 73 milesAndy MRockingham for coffee, Oakham for lunch
19:00 Wed 17th May 2017RideBede ParkNowhere0 milesTHIS RIDE IS CANCELLED! due to very poor weather.
10:30 Sun 14th May 2017RideBede ParkChanged to Sapcote due to clash with Bosw. Marathon 32 milesKathy BLunch at Garden Ctr
10:00 Sat 13th May 2017RideBede ParkShearsby45 milesDavid MLunch at Chandlers
07:30 Sat 6th May 2017RideThe Western PubCar assisted ride in Peak District. Meet 7.30/8.00 to load bikes50 milesMG/AKTwo rides: One of 50 miles suitable for Saturday riders, & a 34 mile ride for Sunday riders. More details to follow
10:30 Sun 30th Apr 2017RideBede ParkSt Josephs Tea Rooms35 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sat 29th Apr 2017RideBede ParkThringstone50 milesMike GLunch at Bull's head
19:00 Wed 26th Apr 2017RideBede ParkRothley18 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sun 23rd Apr 2017RideBede ParkCicle Classic - Owston and M Mowbray50 milesAndy MRide out to watch parts of the cycle race in East Leics http://cicleclassic.co.uk/ Leaving Bede Pk at 10am, & out via Guilford Rd (10.15) Cycle back to Leicester for c. 5pm If want more info contact Andy Mcgee
10:00 Sat 22nd Apr 2017RideBede ParkWelford47 milesAndy KLunch at Welford (Mini-Meadows cafe on Naseby Rd)
10:30 Mon 17th Apr 2017RideBede ParkLutterworth31 milesAndy KLunch at Shambles
10:00 Sat 15th Apr 2017RideBede ParkUpton40 milesAndy KLunch at Leicestershire Handmade Cheese Co (Sparkenhoe) Tea Rooms
10:00 Sat 8th Apr 2017RideBede ParkAston On Trent 55 milesMG
10:30 Sun 2nd Apr 2017RideBede ParkQueens Head Billesdon28 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sat 1st Apr 2017RideBede ParkPinwall yTBAyyy 50 milesPeter SimmondsBack to 10:00 start
10:30 Sat 25th Mar 2017RideBede ParkOld Dalby Brewery yTBAyyy 40 milesAndy McGee
10:30 Sun 19th Mar 2017RideBede ParkUllesthorpe nr Luttwth.32 milesJohn WLunch at Chequers Pub

Event details were last updated on 20 April 2018.