The spokes logo

Leicester Spokes Cycling Group

Leicester's Friendly Social Cycling Group

2017 Rides and Events

Click link to Filter: Current Events Saturday Rides Sunday Rides Other Events Previous Events

Please note that ride details are subject to change.

Date and TimeEventLocationDestinationDistanceLeaderComment
10:30 Sun 25th Jun 2017RideBede ParkBitteswell32 milesJohn WLunch at Royal Oak pub
10:00 Sat 24th Jun 2017RideBede ParkNo ride0 milesNo ride due to York Cycle Rally
14:00 Fri 23rd Jun 2017RallyYorkYork Cycle RallyWeekend rally (23-26) with rides from 17 miles up to a 100km audax based in and around York. See website http://yorkrally.org/
10:00 Sat 17th Jun 2017RideBede ParkTBA 50 milesTBATBA
10:30 Sun 11th Jun 2017RideBede ParkWheel and Compass, Weston by Welland39 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sat 10th Jun 2017RideBede ParkVale of Belvoir60 milesAndy MLunch stop TBA
10:00 Sat 3rd Jun 2017RideWestern PubRide to villages north of Leicester - Ragdale, Six Hills, etc 55 milesMitchLunch at Thurmaston
10:30 Sun 28th May 2017RideBede ParkCircular to Barkby30 milesChristineLunch at Malt Shovel
10:00 Sat 27th May 2017RideBede ParkChapel Brampton 63 milesAndy KLunch at Spencer Arms, Chapel Brampton.
19:00 Wed 24th May 2017RideBede ParkBradgate Park and Groby Pool21 milesPeter Everard
09:00 Sat 20th May 2017RideBede ParkRockingham and Oakham 73 milesAndy MRockingham for coffee, Oakham for lunch
19:00 Wed 17th May 2017RideBede ParkNowhere0 milesTHIS RIDE IS CANCELLED! due to very poor weather.
10:30 Sun 14th May 2017RideBede ParkChanged to Sapcote due to clash with Bosw. Marathon 32 milesKathy BLunch at Garden Ctr
10:00 Sat 13th May 2017RideBede ParkShearsby45 milesDavid MLunch at Chandlers
07:30 Sat 6th May 2017RideThe Western PubCar assisted ride in Peak District. Meet 7.30/8.00 to load bikes50 milesMG/AKTwo rides: One of 50 miles suitable for Saturday riders, & a 34 mile ride for Sunday riders. More details to follow
10:30 Sun 30th Apr 2017RideBede ParkSt Josephs Tea Rooms35 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sat 29th Apr 2017RideBede ParkThringstone50 milesMike GLunch at Bull's head
19:00 Wed 26th Apr 2017RideBede ParkRothley18 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sun 23rd Apr 2017RideBede ParkCicle Classic - Owston and M Mowbray50 milesAndy MRide out to watch parts of the cycle race in East Leics http://cicleclassic.co.uk/ Leaving Bede Pk at 10am, & out via Guilford Rd (10.15) Cycle back to Leicester for c. 5pm If want more info contact Andy Mcgee
10:00 Sat 22nd Apr 2017RideBede ParkWelford47 milesAndy KLunch at Welford (Mini-Meadows cafe on Naseby Rd)
10:30 Mon 17th Apr 2017RideBede ParkLutterworth31 milesAndy KLunch at Shambles
10:00 Sat 15th Apr 2017RideBede ParkUpton40 milesAndy KLunch at Leicestershire Handmade Cheese Co (Sparkenhoe) Tea Rooms
10:00 Sat 8th Apr 2017RideBede ParkAston On Trent 55 milesMG
10:30 Sun 2nd Apr 2017RideBede ParkQueens Head Billesdon28 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sat 1st Apr 2017RideBede ParkPinwall yTBAyyy 50 milesPeter SimmondsBack to 10:00 start
10:30 Sat 25th Mar 2017RideBede ParkOld Dalby Brewery yTBAyyy 40 milesAndy McGee
10:30 Sun 19th Mar 2017RideBede ParkUllesthorpe nr Luttwth.32 milesJohn WLunch at Chequers Pub
10:30 Sat 18th Mar 2017RideBede ParkyTBAyyy 40 milesKumaran
10:30 Sat 11th Mar 2017RideBede ParkMelton Mowbray Pie Festival http://www.melton.gov.uk/events/event/163/fes tival_of_pies42 milesAndy M https://connect.garmin.com/modern/course/209487
10:30 Sun 5th Mar 2017RideBede ParkIbstock32 milesKathy BLunch at https://sunnysidegardencentre.co.uk/
10:30 Sat 4th Mar 2017RideBede ParkyTBAyyy 40 milesMike G
10:30 Sat 25th Feb 2017RideBede ParkOld Dalby 40 milesAndy MTo Old Dalby Brewery
10:30 Sun 19th Feb 2017RideBede ParkStonehurst Tea Rooms26 milesTony S
10:30 Sat 18th Feb 2017RideBede ParkMonks Kirby 42 milesAndy KTry the Denbigh Arms again - new owners
19:00 Wed 15th Feb 2017RideBede ParkPeking Restaurant, Charles StreetPlaces provisionally booked for 8pm.
10:30 Sat 11th Feb 2017RideBede Parkyyyyyyyyy 35 milesMike G
10:30 Sun 5th Feb 2017RideBede ParkBlue Lion, Thrussington26 milesPeter Everard
10:30 Sat 4th Feb 2017RideBede Parkyyyyy 30 milesKumaranLunch at Hathern
10:30 Sat 28th Jan 2017RideBede ParkCroft 31 milesAndy KLunch at Heathcote Arms, Croft
10:30 Sun 22nd Jan 2017RideBede ParkBosworth Battlefield Centre30 milesKathy B
10:30 Sat 21st Jan 2017RideBede Parkyyyyyyyyy 30 milesMike GCharnwood area - bit bumpy no doubt!
10:30 Sat 14th Jan 2017RideBede Parkyyyyyyyyy 30 milesDavid MChandlers Arms, Shearsby
10:29 Sun 8th Jan 2017RideBede ParkSapcote25 milesAndy KLunch @ Sapcote Garden centre
10:30 Sat 7th Jan 2017RideBede ParkAshby Folville31 milesAndy MLunch at Carrington Arms
10:30 Sat 31st Dec 2016RideBede ParkKibworth 30 milesAndy KLunch at AJ's Tea Room See www.kibworthantiquescentre.co.uk/ajs-tea-room/
10:30 Sat 24th Dec 2016RideBede ParkGilmorton 32 milesAndy KGilmorton Shop/Cafe
10:30 Sat 17th Dec 2016RideBede Parkxxxxxxxxx 35 milesPeter SBosworth Battlefield Centre
10:30 Sun 11th Dec 2016RideBede ParkLoughborough 26 milesLunch at Charnwood Museum Cafe
10:00 Sat 10th Dec 2016RideBede ParkTur Langton 38 milesAndy KNote still 10:00 start Lunch at Mint & Ginger, Tur Langton Manor House
19:00 Wed 7th Dec 2016Spokes Xmas Socialthe Western0 miles(see email).
10:00 Sat 3rd Dec 2016RideBede ParkSomerby 38 milesAndy MLast 10:00 start Lunch at Somerby
10:30 Sun 27th Nov 2016RideBede ParkTur Langton29 milesAndy KLunch at Mint & Ginger
10:00 Sat 26th Nov 2016RideBede ParkUllesthorpe Garden Centre 36 milesMike GLunch at the Garden Centre
10:00 Sat 19th Nov 2016RideBede ParkAshby de la Zouch40 milesKumaranTBA
10:30 Sun 13th Nov 2016RideBede ParkKeyham23 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sat 12th Nov 2016RideBede ParkAshby Folville 42 milesAndy KLunch at Carington Arms
10:00 Sat 5th Nov 2016RideBede ParkGlooston 40 milesAndy MLunch at Glooston or Hallaton
10:30 Sun 30th Oct 2016RideBede ParkQueens Arms, Leire nr B. Astley28 milesChris K
10:00 Sat 29th Oct 2016RideBede Parkxxxxxxxxxx 45 milesMike GMeasham area. Lunch perhaps at Bunnies cafe
19:00 Wed 26th Oct 2016RideBede ParkSee Diwali lights. Meal http://paddysmarteninn.co.uk/3 milesMike BArrive 8pm after optional ride. meal reservation mikeball@mailas.com
10:00 Sat 22nd Oct 2016RideBede ParkStaunton Harald/Breedon o t Hill 40 milesAndy M
10:30 Sun 16th Oct 2016RideBede ParkRide cancelled due to rain.34 milesKathy Bhttp://whitemoors.co.uk/
10:00 Sat 15th Oct 2016RideBede ParkStoke Golding 40 milesMike GLunch at White Swan, Stoke Golding, Route; https://connect.garmin.com/modern/course/13734585#.V_PXi1ki7Sg.email
10:00 Sat 8th Oct 2016RideBede Parkxxxxxxxxxx 45 milesKumaranTo Hicks Lodge Cycle Centre/Café in Moria
10:30 Sun 2nd Oct 2016RideBede ParkGreenhouse Cafe31 milesAndy KMenu - see http://langtongreenhouse.co.uk/wordpress/?page_id=69
10:00 Sat 1st Oct 2016RideBede ParkSibbertoft 42 milesAndy KLunch at Red Lion, Sibbertoft
10:00 Sat 24th Sep 2016RideBede Parkxxxxxxxxxx 40 milesKumaranTo Catthorpe Route TBA
10:30 Sun 18th Sep 2016RideBede ParkWanlip Church Hall11 milesPeter EverardRide ends up at Spokes AGM 12.00 at Wanlip Church Hall. Bring own lunch. Cake, tea & coffee provided.
10:00 Sat 17th Sep 2016RideBede ParkSwinford 50 milesAndy KLunch at Chequers, Swinford
10:00 Sat 10th Sep 2016RideBede ParkNo led ride today 0 miles
10:30 Sun 4th Sep 2016RideBede ParkWhitemoors Tea Rms30 milesJohn WNr Mkt Bosworth
10:00 Sat 3rd Sep 2016RideBede ParkStaunton Harald/Breedon o t Hill 40 milesAndy M
08:00 Fri 2nd Sep 2016TourSpokes Holland Trip 2016TBAStay in southern Holland for 1 week. See email to members sent early January
10:30 Mon 29th Aug 2016RideBede ParkBitteswell32 miles
10:00 Sat 27th Aug 2016RideBede ParkMonks Kirby 56 milesMaxLunch at Wood Farm Brewery, Monks Kirby
19:00 Wed 24th Aug 2016RideBede ParkBradgate Park and Groby17 milesPeter Everard
10:30 Sun 21st Aug 2016RideBede ParkSomerby ENE of Leicester38 milesLiz SLunch at Stilton Cheese Inn (wide range of food options available)
10:00 Sat 20th Aug 2016RideBede ParkLocal Ride55 milesKumaranTBA
09:30 Sat 13th Aug 2016RideBede ParkAlvecote66 milesAndy KNote 09.30 start Lunch at "Pretty Pigs" pub
10:30 Sun 7th Aug 2016RideBede ParkChanged to Shackerstone 5mls NW of Mkt Bosw.35 milesKathy BLunch at Rising Sun pub
10:00 Sat 6th Aug 2016RideBede ParkBrixworth/Pitsford Water64 milesAndy MLIGHTS NEEDED FOR TUNNELS Lunch stop at Pitsford Water
10:00 Sat 30th Jul 2016RideBede ParkNottingham75 milesMike GLunch at The Company Inn (Wetherspoons)
19:00 Wed 27th Jul 2016RideBede ParkScraptoft19 milesPeter Everard
10:30 Sun 24th Jul 2016RideBede ParkSt Josephs Tea Rooms35 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sat 23rd Jul 2016RideBede ParkShackerstone 55 milesMaxLunch at either Shackerstone or Newton Burgoland
10:00 Sat 16th Jul 2016RideBede ParkBelvoir Castle 60 milesAndy MLunch at Dove Cottage Tea Rooms - LUNCH @ http://www.dovecottage.org/dove-cottage-tea-room/ Back up is Plough at Stathern
10:30 Sun 10th Jul 2016RideBede ParkTugby Lunch Cafe Ventoux36 milesGraham WVery hilly ride
10:00 Sat 9th Jul 2016RideBede ParkChurch Lawford55 milesAndy KLunch at Old Smithy pub, Church Lawford
10:00 Sat 2nd Jul 2016RideBede ParkShackerstone or Shenton Route is https://connect.garmin.com/modern/course/11336117 Could be reversed40 milesAndy McGFor those not doing London ride
09:00 Sat 2nd Jul 2016RideSt Pancras Stn, LondonLeicester110 milesKumaran/Mike GRide back from London, by invitation
10:30 Sun 26th Jun 2016RideBede ParkMarket Bosworth Open Gardens32 milesJohn WAdm £5 for Charities. Lunch locally http://www.opengardens.co.uk/open_gardens.php?id=132
10:00 Sat 25th Jun 2016RideBede ParkStamford 73 milesKumaranRoute is clockwise so get big hills over early Lunch in Stamford
19:00 Wed 22nd Jun 2016RideBede ParkBradgate Park21 milesPeter Everard
10:00 Sun 19th Jun 2016RallyYorkYork Cycle Rally is 18+19 June TBA
10:30 Sat 18th Jun 2016RallyYorkYork Cycle Rally is 18+19 June http://yorkrally.org/TBAIf camping, then mention Spokes when booking. Several Spokes members have shown interest in attending - more details to follow
09:30 Sat 18th Jun 2016RideBede ParkRutland Water67 milesMaxNOTE 9:30 start Lunch at Horse & Jockey pub, Manton Poss coffee stop later
10:30 Sun 12th Jun 2016RideBede ParkHallaton30 milesChris KLunch at Bewick Arms Tearoom. Hilly
10:00 Sat 11th Jun 2016RideBede ParkCrick63 milesAndy KLunch at The Moorings canalside cafe
10:00 Sat 4th Jun 2016RideBede ParkHallaton63 milesAndy MLunch at Hallaton. Based on Inner Circle audax route(Reversed direction). 63 hilly miles
00:00 Sun 29th May 2016RideBede ParkHartington W/E0 milesKumaran

Event details were last updated on 20 June 2017.